Go For It: My 2013 Resolution

Well, here it is. My first blog post.

After countless nights of lying awake in my bed, typing down every thought, every potential wisp of an idea onto the Note app of my phone, the time has finally come for my first post.

And while one would think this would be a grand, momentous occasion worthy of being celebrated, I’m honestly dreading it.

Starting something new can always be scary (especially if you’re irrationally afraid of most things, which I am), but nothing is worse than watching the plan you built up in your head fail epically right in front of you. That’s why I’m apprehensive about starting this blog.

Since I want to be an author sometime in the hopefully near future, I thought starting a blog would be great practice. I’d be able to learn to generate ideas quickly, build an audience of followers, and unlike my previous New Year’s resolutions (e.g. the generic New Year’s goal of losing 50 pounds in a week), this one wouldn’t require strictly eating pureed baby food.

But once my mental heel-click ended, the torrent of negative self-talk began. What if this whole blog thing doesn’t work out the way I intended? What if I can’t come up with any interesting topics and no one reads it? What if an angry horde of Grammar Nazis viciously parades through my posts, bashing my work and attacking me about the misuse of punctuation that is sure to show up eventually? What if what if what if what if what if…

What if I just wrote it anyway?

It couldn’t hurt. It’s something I love doing, and it’s not like I can get any worse by blogging. What’s horrible about New Year’s resolutions is the realization that, though the potential for failure is relatively high due to lack of post-holiday motivation, you can never truly know if your goal is achievable unless you just go for it.

I could have put off this blog for another day. There’s always another day. But Oh, I’ll start Monday never actually means Monday, and since I’m writing about resolutions, I might as well post this on New Year’s, right?

The thing with goals, though, is that they need to be important to you. If you don’t have the right mindset or the right passion, then of course the plan will fall apart. The key is to make your resolution one of your top priorities, to banish all the what-ifs and all the excuses as to why it wouldn’t work and just do it.

So while millions of people clink their champagne glasses just waiting for the Ball to drop, I sit here nursing the head-cold I’ve had since Christmas, writing this post. Why? It’s just that important to me.

Have a happy and safe New Year’s, goal-getters.  Be proud of yourself this year. Get a head start on your resolution. Welcome to 2013.

Leave a Reply

