It’s Okay To Be You

As someone whose blog revolves around the concept of life, it seems I spend an awful lot of time not having one.

Or at least, that’s what society has led people like me to believe.

You see, in this country (and many other places around the world), we value social situations. We prefer parties, noise, and schmoozing to reading, quiet, and deep thinking. The less we are surrounded by peers, the more we are shunned by them.  And for those of us who go against the grain, who find happiness in what is deemed unusual by society, we are punished.

So for someone like me – the studious type who loves hanging out with good friends but also enjoys introspective time alone to write and create – to choose to spend time in solitude is unthinkable and weird. Why should I not want to be always surrounded by people? How odd.

Humans are social beings. That much is true. And this is not to say that those of us who prefer the slower life to the fast one don’t enjoy the company of others. Our brains are just not wired to handle the same amount of social stimuli. People are kind of like electronics. Some have power cords, and as long as they stay plugged in to that constant stream of energy – social situations – they work perfectly. The remaining population consists of batteries: able to last for a while on energy, but also require time to recharge.

We’ve been completely brainwashed in this world to place negative stigmas on certain activities and lifestyles. Staying in on the weekends is for anti-socials. A love of learning is for nerds. A single woman is destined to become a crazy cat lady.

Emma Watson…She’s a smart cookie.

When did the world decide that only one way of living was the correct way? Who is to say what is correct and what’s not? Maybe the world’s opinions have always been this way. How long will it take for society to change its views then? How long will it take for us to stop pretending we enjoy what we don’t?

As I sit here in my dorm room, my first day back this spring, I’m reminded of exactly how different people are, and how it’s so important to figure out who you are and stay that way. There are too many pressures in this world to be different from what you want to be, to conform to the ideals of a corrupt and blind society.

Be okay with yourself. Life should be about what matters to you, not what society thinks should matter.

Just a thought.

4 thoughts on “It’s Okay To Be You

  1. Totally get what you mean. I love being around people, but sometimes I just NEED to go somewhere by myself and recharge. For a long time, I felt ashamed of that because I thought it meant I was anti-social; I fell into the trap of believing the lie that anyone who’s anyone has to be with their friends constantly. And that isn’t true. I love my friends, but sometimes I need a moment just with me, myself, and I.

  2. Your post brings to my mind the novel I’m currently writing called “The Pursuit of Happiness” about one man who is determined to resist being made “happy” (by the world’s definition) and chooses to be satisfied with the way he was created to be.

    Keep thinking deeply and let others say what they will.

  3. I feel like I’m only just coming out of what a lot of people go through during their late teens/early twenties; that annual change in identity, fluctuations in where you think you’re going or who you want to be. I think it’s through this period we really ‘find’ ourselves, temporarily, then lose it again.

    Screw the square. This is a great post. You’re a great writer.

Leave a Reply

