Get In the Bucket

In celebration of my tenth blog post (hoorah for milestones!), I wanted to share something with you all which I think is highly controversial. I know I’m not the only one like this. In fact, I believe most people will be able to relate to what I’m about to say, especially those who hold positions of extreme power.

I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing.

I understand if you’ve hit the Unfollow button or have already fled to the exit nearest you, but if you did decide to stay, please allow me the chance to explain.

I guess what I meant by that statement is, I honestly don’t know how any of this life stuff will work out.

Sure, I can pretend that I’ve got all the answers, that I’ve been intentionally making all the right moves in order to achieve the best possible outcome. But in retrospect, how much of where I am right now was due to my own conscious decisions?

I’d like to think that my life has been a compilation of my choices; choices I knew were going to catapult me right over the wall of my dreams and into the future I’d planned for myself. But that doesn’t make any sense, does it?

catapult

This is what your life choices look like. Except with fewer cats. Unless you really like cats. (Photo credit: Tony Dowler)

How could I catapult myself? That sort of thing isn’t usually a one man show. The best I can do is make the decision to get in the bucket.

And that’s what life is then, huh? It’s rows upon rows of catapults, each row representing the next stage of progress. All you have to do is decide which bucket to climb into. You can never be sure which catapult is the right one (is there a right one?). They all look relatively the same. You have to let yourself be led by your gut instinct, which at this point is the only bit of control you have in how you’ll advance to the next stage.

So, you get to make life choices, sure. But how far will they fling you? In what direction will you fly? I don’t think there’s any real way of knowing. You just have to understand what you want, and go with what feels right. Pick a bucket, climb in, and just…hope for the best.

 

Did that even make sense? Does life make sense? Let me know your perspective on this in a comment. I’d love to hear it.

One thought on “Get In the Bucket

  1. I think for me life is about doing and doers accomplish things while thinkers linger and seem to go nowhere. One of my favorite quotes by Loa-Tzu, “a journey of a thousand steps begins with a single step” relates to this and I would go further and say that even if those steps seem to go off track at least you’re going somewhere.

Leave a Reply

