What I’m Inspired By: Photography

Inspiration is…well…everywhere. It’s in the way the sun bounces along the crystals of ice on the sidewalk, the way that opera singer belted out that last note, and it’s even in the way that little brown squirrel scurried past me on my way to class this morning.

But if inspiration is everywhere, why is it so hard for writers to find? Perhaps it’s because we hardly even notice these sources of inspiration anymore, especially in this day and age when there’s so much else to occupy us.

Distraction is part of the problem. What writers really need is a machine to slow time, something that allows them to take a moment and just be able to think about it, analyze it, and experience it. Events in life happen too fast for most people, and I think that’s where some of the inspiration can be lost: in the passage of time.

This is why I believe photography is one of the best tools a writer can use in order to capture these moments and hold on to them until they’ve gotten all their thoughts on the subject down in writing. Writers can photograph their own sources of inspiration, or even consider a picture of something another photographer was inspired by. The way in which different ideas can arise from the same source is what makes creativity so engaging, and so I’ve placed below a few photos that inspire me, ones that I feel I could base a story from.

If you feel inspired by these pictures as well, share your ideas in the comments. And for more photos like these, check out my Writer’s Block photo collection on Pinterest:        http://pinterest.com/lpaigewrites/writer-s-block/

378637d97eac544a6cca7d4fdf1b9182

25bea6e5eb881ed2068f8dc83a372190

fedc1f48a0948a5a4f50482cf4909539

496fbdc745d909e761f29fefae5485b8

c70e192f559491f0783734a649e98760

07e1637d162c138f4b72cbdb8b9cdeff

e8b6fa1e2a143637dda5f5635467e6f0

(As you can see, I tend to be inspired by places. What are you inspired by?)

6 thoughts on “What I’m Inspired By: Photography

  1. You hit this right on the nose! Inspiration is so difficult for me to grasp, because I’m already trying so hard to keep up with life! I love the photo of the moss-covered train tracks you posted. It’s so mythical and dreamy. 🙂

    • Thank you! I also think life kind of bogs us down sometimes. I’m usually too mentally exhausted from school to be very creative. And I love that picture too. It’s probably my favorite one 🙂

  2. I just found you this AM…refreshing!!! The photography is thoughtful, and I can see why and how it inspires you.
    Please keep writing and we will see you in the book store.

Leave a Reply

