Goodreads: Holy Crap, Where Have You Been All My Life?

Books behind the bed

Now I know I’m probably way behind on getting a Goodreads, but I just wanted to take today and feature this amazing tool because I’m pretty stoked about it and I’m sure there are still some people out there who haven’t heard of it yet.

I do realize that WordPress has a Goodreads widget available for us bloggers to use (and I have one now, look to the side for that), but I never had the time to sit down and see what “Goodreads” really was until just now.

Basically, Goodreads is a website where people can rate books they’ve read, receive recommendations based on those ratings, and keep a wishlist of all the books they want to read in the future. Nowadays, most of the chain bookstores offer these features on their websites once a person has made an account with them.

But there are a few things for me that really make Goodreads stand out compared to maybe just having a Barnes & Noble account.

  • I was browsing through the Explore tab and, I kid you not, they give out free books. Apparently publishers will give them copies of books that haven’t been released yet, and Goodreads will put them up on their website and users can enter to win one of the books. The nice part is, there’s more than one copy of the book. Plus, they tell you how many copies are left and how many people are signed up to win it, so you can weigh your odds a little bit before diving in. 100 copies with 900 people signed up? I like my chances.
  • Goodreads gives you a huge list of author interviews, their favorite books, and even live chats with certain authors on their website. Barnes & Noble does have a similar feature, but they tend to only showcase one author at a time. The Goodreads format allows you to pick from many different authors of various genres and find out more about them and what they like to read.
  • Goodreads offers short articles on organizations and people that are interested in literature and helping improve literacy around the world. I myself quite enjoy reading about charities that promote reading, especially since I feel that the popularity of reading has plummeted so much within the past few decades. Not only do they write about these organizations though, but Goodreads offers links and contact information so that you can learn how to get involved.
  • Listed under the “community” section, they have a creative writing page. This page gives you a list of genres and tags to point you toward users who have uploaded their own writing pieces. This section is pretty similar to what I did with the whole Paige’s Pages thing, and what many more WordPress users blog about daily. It’s a wonderful place for people without blogs or websites to get their work noticed.
  • There’s a section for upcoming events around the world, like author appearances, book swaps, book clubs, etc. Not only does Goodreads let you search through already established events, but you can even add your own. It’s a great way to become connected with more readers in your area.

That being said, I’m probably going to spend a few hours playing around on this site. If you don’t have time to sit at home all day, they do have a free mobile app as well. Don’t forget to check out my new Goodreads widget off to the side of this article, and if you have a WordPress blog, please check out the widget for yourself!

6 thoughts on “Goodreads: Holy Crap, Where Have You Been All My Life?

  1. I know right?!! I only found it after discovering this author – how is it not more known.. or maybe we just missed that memo 😉

    I [along with what you mentioned – love the fact that books are categorized in themes [listopia] – I’ve discovered so many new authors etc.

Leave a Reply

