Getting Started in the Writing World – Part 1

I’m sure many of my fellow aspiring authors and writers out there have been wondering about the same things I have when it comes to their writing careers – namely, where do I begin?

Honestly, I don’t know if there’s a right answer. The advice I’m about to give you might not even be what works for you, but I think it’s a good place to start.

Recently, I was browsing the Writer’s Bible (A.K.A. Poets & Writers magazine) and I stumbled across a listing of writing jobs. And one of the jobs listed, though not a “job” per se, caught my eye. I read through the description of the job a few times and mulled over whether or not I should apply:

It’s not a paying internship. Strike one.

But, it would be a great opportunity to get my name in print and some experience on my resume.

Plus, contacts. Nothing means more to a writer trying to get published than making some friends in the publishing industry.

I’ve already got a few things on my plate right now. Strike two. Will I have the time for this?

Heck. Why not?

I applied.

And though it took me a few hours to perfect a sloppy resume (if anyone needs help making a professional resume, I am now your girl) and write an engaging and convincing cover letter, it was well worth the time.

Why, do you ask?

Well, I submitted my application a few days ago and have already received confirmation of my progress into the next level of the application – a request for writing samples.

Clearly, I made at least a small impression on the minds of the people at this magazine (which, for now, shall remain unnamed) and am moving forward into the next stage of writerdom.

I’ll keep you all updated as soon as I hear back from them again (it will be posted under Getting Started in the Writing World – Part 2).

My advice for now? Look for a way to get your foot in the door. What is it that you want to do? Publish a book? Try applying at a literary magazine. Work as a publishing editor? Try getting an internship at a well-known company. Read writing magazines and journals, and read them every day so that you can keep up with more recent news like posted writing jobs. Do something. Be active in your life.

We’re finally getting somewhere, guys.

4 thoughts on “Getting Started in the Writing World – Part 1

  1. Way to dive in! It’s the only option we have for moving forward in this world. Writers, especially, need to get their feet wet, to feel the temperature of the water, dry off and dive in all over again! I am trying to swim in the sea with you. . . would love a rescue boat to come along and swoop up my work!! Keep on keeping on. . .

    • Thanks for your comment! 🙂 I think a lot of us writers have been struggling in the water for quite some time, some of us more than others. It hardly seems fair that the rescue boats would pick up those of us who haven’t even acclimated to the temperature yet! What a competitive ocean we live in.

  2. This is really awesome 🙂 A friend and I just graduated and we kinda of felt the same way looking at the job options and avenues that we had so we created a literary magazine 🙂 Hopefully, it all works out!

Leave a Reply

