Getting Started in the Writing World – Part 2: My First Rejection

As you can tell by the title, I’ve got some bad news.

Like I mentioned in the first part to this post, I recently applied to intern at a popular literary magazine. My chances seemed good, especially since I made it past initial applications and straight to writing samples. My hopes were up. I thought I had it.

My breath left me when I saw their email in my inbox. This was it. But as I read the first few lines, I knew it wasn’t going to end the way I had hoped.

You might be wondering why I didn’t get the internship, what I did wrong. I’m wondering the same. The generic “we decided to move along with other applicants” letter form did little to answer my questions.

And I’ll admit, it hurt pretty bad. It’s a very challenging experience to have your dreams swept out from under you like that. Am I still pretty disappointed? Very. But is this the end? No.

Perhaps this is just my initiation into real writerdom. I’ve had my work reviewed and rejected, and now I’m a real writer. This is just the first step to the rest of forever.

So I’m going to keep looking for internships and jobs and I’m going to keep writing because that’s what I love to do. I refuse to let one little bump in the road stop my journey all together. Rejection happens, and that’s okay.

I’ll keep you all updated along the way, but until then, I better start working on my second rejection. Welcome to the club. Welcome to writing.


(On a much more positive note, I’ve been nominated for the Very Inspiring Blogger award by writemybrainsout. Look for that post next Friday!)

10 thoughts on “Getting Started in the Writing World – Part 2: My First Rejection

  1. Look at it this way: getting past the initial stages clearly means that they rated the quality of your writing. Don’t think of this as a rejection, think of it more in the way that it was something that, despite what you may (have) believe(d), just wasn’t for you. It may be that your writing style isn’t quite what they were looking for. That doesn’t mean anything negative against you. It just means it was not the right opportunity.

  2. Keep going, LP,

    I suffered three rejections this week. It all pays the dues, though, and every writer knows there are a lot of rejections before the right thing happens.

  3. I believe rejection goes in tandem with any form of creativity. We can’t please every single aesthetic sense out there. But soon enough someone does appreciate it. I admire your fortitude on having taken the rejection with a grain of salt. You do not seem to be deterred in the least by this and that’s amazing. Good going! Wish you well for future endeavors.

Leave a Reply

