Fish Tale #2 – Dealing With Success and Failure

It’s been a long week here at wherever I am, and there’s a few things I need to catch you guys up to speed on.

My beloved betta fish Hemingway has unfortunately passed away. Like Ernest Hemingway, Hemmy (as I so dearly referred to him) survived several brushes with death (though none of them involved plane crashes or blood poisoning). But eventually his swim bladder disease got the best of him and I was forced to bid adieu to my grumpy-faced fishy friend.

Swim in peace, Hemmy

Swim in peace, Hemmy

Naturally, I blamed myself for his death. Did I do something wrong when I changed his water? Should I have acted sooner when I noticed he was looking a  bit sluggish? Whether his untimely death was a result of my actions (or in-actions), I am uncertain. But I know that I felt deeply responsible.

I mourned. And after a few weeks, I worked up the courage to try again and bought myself a new fish.

Everyone, meet DaVinci.

IMG_0858

He’s a delta tail Betta. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to get a picture of him with his fins completely spread out (they’re huge), but this is a little sneak peak of what he looks like. It’s odd having him around instead of Hemmy, and sometimes I even catch myself calling him by the wrong name. But the point is, moving on from your failures doesn’t necessarily mean forgetting what happened. It’s attempting to accept what you did wrong, mourn, learn, and try again.

And this doesn’t just apply to fish. These are life lessons here, people.

Another update: I finally found a job.

After weeks of searching for jobs, filling out applications, and waiting around to never get called back, I finally had some luck with a local newspaper, where I now work as a copy editor and opinion columnist. Huzzah! Success!

So how does one handle success after endless failures? Naturally, I somehow get myself sick and spent my first day at the copy desk trying not to horrify everyone with my violent nose blowing. But despite that, I really quite enjoyed myself and I know I’m going to appreciate every ounce of experience I can squeeze from this job. So although this one seemed like a bit of a failure, I’m taking it as a sinus good things to come.

How to deal with success: Just try not to blow it.

Ah, sick puns.

Leave a Reply

